Series by Rebecca Johnson

Vet cadets logo cropped

Purchase or read more about books from the Vet Cadets series

Book 1 & 2: Out Now!

Book 3 & 4: Coming Soon! – 31 July 2017

Do you love animals? Do you like to learn new animal facts? Do you enjoy solving mysteries? Then you’ll want to be a Vet Cadet! Vet Cadets is an exciting new four book series for smart, animal and science-loving girls who aren’t afraid to get their hands dirty!



Purchase or read more about books from the Juliet- Nearly a Vet series

Published by Penguin, ‘Juliet – Nearly a Vet’ is a fun series about a ten-year-old girl who thinks she is almost a vet. Her mother is a vet and Juliet watches her all the time, and there really isn’t that much to it!

‘Juliet’ has received a large number of excellent reviews as well as winning the Environmental Award for Children’s literature 2014 (Bush Baby Rescue: Juliet Nearly a Vet, Book 4). Individual books in the series have been twice nominated for the CBCA younger readers section (2014 and 2015), and nominated for the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature (2014). This series will soon be published in Norwegian, Czech, Slovak and Portuguese


Insect-series2Purchase or read more about books from The Insect Series

Winner of the 2014 Whitley Commendation for Best Educational Series, the Insect Series (published by Pascal Press) has strong links to the Australian Curriculum, presenting facts and scientific knowledge in a fiction format with stunning photographs.

The Insect Series focuses on metamorphosis, survival, adaptations, properties of natural materials and the usefulness of insects through fiction stories with stunning close-up photos of insects of all kinds. These books won the 2014 Whitley Award for Best Educational Series and have strong listed links to the Australian Curriculum for many year levels. A great additional science resource for teachers and the fiction stories that accompany the facts make the learning even more fun.



SP-heading-blackPurchase or read more about books from The Steve Parish Storybook Collection

The Steve Parish Story Book collection (now published by Pascal Press) and featuring Australian wildlife, combines full-colour photographs by award-winning photographer Steve Parish with fact-filled fiction stories.

Pascal Publishing’s Reading Eggs scheme has created the Eggy Animal Stories app to accompany the Steve Parish story books. Children can have the stories read to them (or read alone), complete mazes, colour in, play games and complete quizzes. The app is free to download and the first three books are also free. To download the app, simply search ‘Eggy Animal Stories’ in the app store. The Steve Parish Story Book collection has been extremely popular, with over 3 000 000 books sold and over 40 books in the series.


First Facts

These books have been designed to give children a clear understanding of the six main groups of animals. They include the features and characteristics that are used to classify animals that belong to each group. The structure of the books allows for easy cross checking, contrasting and comparison between animal groups, making them suitable as a research tool and for direct teaching situations.


The Reptiles & Amphibians

The Steve Parish Reptiles & Amphibians Story Book range was written by award-winning author and primary school science teacher Rebecca Johnson, who has written more than 60 books for children. Her Steve Parish Insect story book range won the 2014 Whitley Award for Best Children’s series.